Channel NewsAsia

MH17: Names of first batch of returning Malaysian victims released

Transport Minister Liow Tiong Lai added that the Malaysian government will announce the arrival date of a second batch soon.

SEPANG: The Malaysian government on Thursday (Aug 21) announced the names of the 20 victims of the downed Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 whose remains will arrive in the country on Friday. 

Defence Minister Hishammuddin Hussein said in a press conference that the victims' remains were scheduled to arrive at 10am at the Bunga Raya Complex of the Kuala Lumpur International Airport. 

Transport Minister Liow Tiong Lai also tweeted the same day, and said a total of 30 Malaysians had now been identified. "30 Malaysians were identified with 2 more remains added. Also 2nd batch of trip will be announced soon with the same honorary protocols," Mr Liow wrote.

The list of the first batch of victims' remains returning to Malaysia is reproduced below:


  1.    Mastura Mustafa (F)
  2.    Ahmad Hakimi Hanapi (M)
  3.    Hamfazlin Sham Mohamed Arifin (F)
  4.    Nur Shazana Mohamed Salleh (F)
  5.    Dora Shahila Kassim (F)
  6.    Lee Hui Pin (F)
  7.    Angeline Premila Rajandaran (F)
  8.    Chong Yee Pheng (F)
  9.    Azrina Yakob (F)


  1.    Foo Ming Lee (M)
  2.    Karamjit Singh Karnail Singh (M)
  3.    Ng Qing Zheng (M)
  4.    Mabel Anthony Samy (F)
  5.    Paul Rajasingam / Sivagnanam (M)
  6.    Elisabeth Ng Lyeti (F)
  7.    Ariza Ghazalee (F)
  8.    Muhammad Afif Tambi (M)
  9.    Noor Rahimmah Mohd Nor (F)
  10.    Mohd Ali Md Salim (M)
  11.    Hasni Hardi Parlan (M)

Tweet photos, videos and updates on this story to  @channelnewsasia