Channel NewsAsia

Four nurses receive President’s Award this year

This is the first time that the award is given to four nurses, instead of three, for their significant contributions in nursing, the Ministry of Health says.

SINGAPORE: Four exemplary nurses received the President’s Award at the Istana on Wednesday (July 30), instead of the customary three, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said.

President Tony Tan Keng Yam presented the award to Ms Karen Koh Wei Ling, an advanced practice nurse at National University Hospital; Ms Ng Wai May, an advanced practice nurse at National Neuroscience Institute; Ms Sim Lai Kiow, a nurse clinician at Khoo Teck Puat Hospital; and Mr Yong Keng Kwang, the director of nursing at Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

Mr Yong was only the third male to receive the award since it was launched 15 years ago, according to MOH.

The nurses, who were chosen for significant contributions in nursing, each received a trophy, a certificate and a cash prize that can be used to attend conferences and training programmes of their choice for professional and personal development, the ministry added.

Tweet photos, videos and updates on this story to  @channelnewsasia