Channel NewsAsia

Ho Ching to be presented Asian Business Leaders Award

Temasek CEO and Executive Director will receive the award from Asia House on Oct 27 in London.

SINGAPORE: Ms Ho Ching, Executive Director and CEO of Temasek Holdings, will be awarded the 2014 Asian Business Leaders Award, the Trustees of Asia House announced on Monday (June 30).

“I was surprised to receive this award from Asia House, and thank them for the honour. This is really a special recognition for the team in Temasek, past and present," said Ms Ho.

"I'm privileged to accept this award on behalf of the Temasek team, who are committed to the ideals of being a responsible long term investor and steward, combining the discipline of being an active investor looking for sustainable long-term returns, and the responsibility of being a trusted steward for past, present and future generations.”

The award will be presented at a gala event at Westminster, London, on Oct 27, announced Asia House, a non-profit centre of expertise on Asia.

"The annual award recognises individuals who embody the 'Servant Leader' - economic success and professional excellence accompanied by moral leadership and service to society," Asia House said in a press statement. "Ms Ho Ching was selected to receive this year's award because of her impressive business credentials and her significant efforts to inspire a commitment in others to improving society."

Ms Ho Ching joined Temasek as a Director in January 2002 and became its Executive Director in May 2002. She was appointed to the position of Executive Director and CEO on Jan 1, 2004.

She was previously President and CEO of the Singapore Technologies Group; Chairman of the Singapore Institute of Standards and Industrial Research; Deputy Chairman of the National Productivity and Quality Council; and Deputy Chairman of the Economic Development Board.

Said Asia House Chairman John Boyd: "We are extremely pleased to honour a business leader of the stature of Ho Ching, who has brought so much renown to Temasek and her industry in Asia. Ms Ho has demonstrated deeply impressive achievements in business whilst maintaining a dedication to the highest standards in corporate governance, transparency and leadership. "

Previous recipients of the award include Mr Azim Premji, Chairman of Wipro; Ms Lubna Olayan, CEO of the Olayan Financing Company; Mr Ratan Tata, Chairman of Tata Group; Mr Jack Ma, Chairman and founder of and Mr Vikram Singh Mehta , Chairman of Shell India. 

Tweet photos, videos and updates on this story to  @channelnewsasia