Channel NewsAsia

Golf: South Korea's Noh gets rare PGA penalty

South Korea's Noh Seung-Yul received a rare two-stroke penalty during Friday's (Aug 22) second round of The Barclays US PGA tournament for playing a shot from the wrong green.

PARAMUS, United States: South Korea's Noh Seung-Yul received a rare two-stroke penalty during Friday's (Aug 22) second round of The Barclays US PGA tournament for playing a shot from the wrong green.

Noh began his round on the 10th hole and opened with a birdie but then sent his tee shot way to the right at the par-4 11th hole, so off line that it landed on a putting green of the adjacent third hole.

Unaware he needed to take a relief drop with no penalty, Noh played his next shot from the putting surface of the wrong hole, a rules violation.

A rules official witnessed the violation and informed Noh of the penalty, turning his bogey on the hole into a triple-bogey seven.

"I've been out here 33 years. We have never seen this happen," said Slugger White, the PGA Tour vice president of rules and competition.

Noh's caddie tried to replace the divot in the putting surface but officials were forced to use a plug to patch the spot where Noh struck his second shot.

Noh went on to shoot a one-over par 72 and stood at two-under 140 after 36 holes.

Tweet photos, videos and updates on this story to  @channelnewsasia