Malaysia general election 2018: Highlights

Malaysia general election 2018: Highlights

malaysia general election - crowds cheer for mahathir mohamad
Crowds in Selangor cheer for Dr Mahathir Mohamad as results for the general election trickled in. (Photo: Jack Board) 

The opposition is set to form a new government in Malaysia, after official figures showed that the Pakatan Harapan coalition has won the 112 parliament seats needed for a simple majority.

The result brings an end to the rule of Barisan Nasional, which has governed Malaysia since independence.

Pakatan Harapan also captured seven out of 13 states in Wednesday's (May 9) election: Penang, Selangor, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Perak and Johor. 

It was a stunning result in the southernmost state - Johor has been held by the Barisan Nasional since independence. Incumbent chief minister Mohamed Khaled Nordin lost his seat in Pasir Gudang to PKR's Hassan Abdul Karim by a whopping 24,726 votes.

The states of Kelantan and Terengganu went to PAS.

The 14th General Election also saw at least two Barisan Nasional heavyweights - Transport Minister Liow Tiong Lai and Health Minister S Subramaniam - lose their parliamentary seats

Prime Minister Najib Razak, meanwhile, retained his Pekan parliamentary seat in Pahang. 

All 222 parliamentary seats were contested, along with 505 state seats. Nearly 14.5 million Malaysians were eligible to vote at the country's 8,253 polling stations.

Swipe to refresh our live blog for updates on election results:

Source: CNA/dl/gs