PM Mahathir Mohamad announces Malaysia Cabinet

PM Mahathir Mohamad announces Malaysia Cabinet

Mahathir Mohamad
Malaysia's Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad (centre) waves next to newly-appointed Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng (left) after a press conference to announce his cabinet members in Petaling Jaya on May 12, 2018. (Photo: AP/Andy Wong)

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad on Friday (May 18) unveiled his list of 14 Cabinet ministers to be sworn in next week, after the King approved the selection of names following a meeting at the palace.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held on Monday at 11.30am at the Istana Negara. 

Since his election win, Dr Mahathir has announced five Cabinet ministers, including Lim Guan Eng as finance minister, Muhyiddin Yassin as home affairs minister and Mohammad Sabu as defence minister . 

Earlier on Friday, Dr Mahathir withdrew himself as education minister to honour a pledge in the coalition manifesto. The portfolio will now be taken by former university lecturer Dr Maszlee Malik. 

A foreign minister was not named.

In a statement, he named PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali as the minister of economic affairs and DAP deputy chairman Gobind Singh Deo as the minister of communications and multimedia.

He also appointed PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin as the housing and local government minister; DAP national organising secretary Anthony Loke Siew Fook as the minister of transport and DAP vice-chairman Kulasegaran Murugeson as the minister of human resource.

The others named on Friday include Amanah deputy president Salahuddin Ayub, as the minister of agriculture and agro-based industry; Amanah strategic director Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad, as the minister of health; and Titiwangsa MP Rina Harun of Bersatu, as the minister of rural development.

Mohamed Azmin said that he found out about the appointment after he was informed by Selangor State Secretary Mohd Amin Ahmad Ahya, and that he intends to meet Dr Mahathir as soon as possible to get further clarification on his appointment as minister of economic affairs.

“I thank Tun Dr Mahathir for his faith in me leading such a senior ministry. The responsibility is very big as the work is to revive the national economy," Mohamed Azmin  told reporters after an event to break fast.

“However, I have informed the Sultan of Selangor about this and have told him that I also informed him that I will be meeting the prime minister soon, maybe tonight or at the latest tomorrow, to get further clarification on the scope of duties entrusted to me,” he said.

Full list of ministers: 

Prime Minister: Dr Mahathir Mohamad

Deputy Prime Minister: Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail

Home Minister: Muhyiddin Yassin

Education Minister: Dr Maszlee Malik

Minister of Rural Development: Rina Harun

Minister of Women and Family Development: Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail

Minister of Economic Affairs: Mohamed Azmin Ali

Minister of Housing and Local Government: Zuraida Kamaruddin

Minister of Finance: Lim Guan Eng

Minister of Transport: Anthony Loke Siew Fook

Minister of Communications and Multimedia: Gobind Singh Deo

Minister of Human Resource: Kulasegaran V Murugeson

Minister of Defence: Mohamad Sabu

Minister of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry: Salahuddin Ayub

Minister of Health: Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad

Source: Bernama/CNA/ng