Vehicle Entry Permit in effect for Singapore cars entering Johor

Vehicle Entry Permit in effect for Singapore cars entering Johor

Singapore-registered cars will now need a Vehicle Entry Permit to enter Malaysia, but there will be no charges until Jul 15.

SINGAPORE: Malaysia on Wednesday (Jun 1) introduced the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system on all foreign-registered cars entering Johor.

But drivers were not charged the RM20 (S$6.60) fee, as authorities said they were conducting a test run until Jul 15, according to Bernama.

More the 120,000 Singapore vehicles have already registered for the VEP, according to Public Works, Rural and Regional Development Com­mittee chairman Hasni Mohammad.

"Meanwhile, the registration of vehicles for VEP will be until the end of the year," he told Bernama. It is estimated that 60 per cent of the one million vehicles which entered Malaysia via the two entry points over the past two months were Singaporean vehicles, Mr Hasni said.

Mr Hasni also added that "each vehicle lane at the checkpoints was equipped with cameras and sensors to read number plates and RFID tags”.

In August 2014, Singapore raised its vehicle entry permit charges for foreign-registered cars from S$20 to S$35 per day, while the Goods Vehicle Permit fee for foreign-registered goods vehicles was raised from S$10 to S$40 per calendar month.

In Singapore, each foreign car is given 10 free days per year and there are no charges during the weekends. VEP is also exempt on cars entering Singapore between 5pm and 2am from Monday to Friday.


To register for the VEP, vehicle owners will need to create an account at Malaysia’s Road Transport Department (JPJ) website at

For registration, the owner or representative appointed by the owner of the foreign-registered vehicle would have to provide information including his personal and car registration details.

After successfully registering the vehicle, the owner will be advised on the collection of an RFID tag to be displayed on the vehicle's windshield at JPJ's designated premises.

There will be an administration fee of RM10 (S$3.30) imposed during tag collection, and the VEP is renewable every five years.

The VEP scheme will initially involve foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia via Johor and will be implemented at the rest of the 12 road entry points in Malaysia in stages. The second phase will cover Thailand, the third phase Brunei and Indonesia, and the fourth phase other designated entry points.

Source: CNA/rw