Roles and duties

Roles and duties

Parliament Banner

Speaker of Parliament

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin

The Speaker of Parliament takes charge of the administration of Parliament and its secretariat, and presides over parliamentary sittings.

During debates in the House, the Speaker’s role includes regulating and enforcing the rules of debate in the House, and putting the question for the House to debate on and vote. The Speaker must remain impartial and fair to all MPs as decides who has the right to speak.

Although the Speaker does not take part in the debates, being an elected Member of Parliament, the Speaker can abstain, or vote for/ against a motion.

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin was elected Speaker of Parliament on Sep 11, 2017. He is also the MP for Marine Parade GRC.

Leader of the House

Ms Grace Fu

The Leader of the House is responsible for the arrangement of government business and the legislative programme of Parliament. She also proposes appropriate actions to be taken on any procedural matters arising in Parliament.

The Leader of the House is tasked with moving procedural motions relating to the business of the House during sittings, such as extending the time of sittings beyond the usual time as set out in the Standing Orders.

The position is currently held by Ms Grace Fu, who is the Minister for Culture, Community and Youth & Leader of the House.

Singapore law does not provide for an official Leader of the Opposition, however there is the title - unofficial Leader of the Opposition - given to the MP who is the leader of the largest opposition party which is able and prepared to assume office if the government resigns.

Government Whip

Mr Janil Puthucheary

The Government Whip is an official in a political party whose task is to ensure party discipline in a legislature.

In carrying out his duties, the Whip lists down the speakers for each item of business and estimates the time required so that everything can be completed within schedule.

The Whip also ensures that there are always sufficient party members in the Chamber to support the party's position and that MPs vote according to the party's line. Occasionally, he may "lift the whip" and allow MPs to vote according to their conscience.

The position is currently held by Mr Janil Puthucheary who is also Senior Minister of State for Health and for Communications and Information.