3 Members of Parliament to step down ahead of GE

3 Members of Parliament to step down ahead of GE

Sembawang GRC MP Mr Hawazi Daipi and Tampines GRC MPs Mr Mah Bow Tan and Ms Irene Ng will step down from Parliament ahead of the next General Election.

MPs to step down

SINGAPORE: Three Members of Parliament (MPs) from the People's Action Party will be stepping down ahead of the next General Election.

Mr Hawazi Daipi, who is also Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Education and Manpower, will retire after 19 years as a Sembawang GRC MP, his fellow MP and National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan announced at a National Day dinner celebration organised by Marsiling constituency.

Mr Khaw said that Mr Hawazi had asked Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to let him retire from politics.

Mr Hawazi has been an MP of Sembawang GRC since 1996. His Marsiling ward was carved out to become part of the new Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC.

Two MPs of Tampines GRC also announced their resignations. Mr Mah Bow Tan, who has served the constituency for 27 years and was the Minister for National Development from 1999 to 2011, said on Friday he will be retiring from politics.

Addressing his residents at a Tampines East National Day dinner, he said: "This will be the last National Day I will be speaking to you. It's time for me to step aside and make way for the younger generation. I've decided I will not be standing in the next GE. I have informed the Prime Minister and he has agreed."

Fellow MP and Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, who was also present, thanked Mr Mah for his contributions to the nation and to Tampines.

In a separate announcement, Ms Irene Ng said she will be stepping down after serving for 14 years. Speaking at a community event, she said she had requested to step down last year.

Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, also MP for Tampines GRC, said that Ms Ng had served her Tampines Changkat ward with "a lot of heart". Ms Ng started many programmes for the elderly and disadvantaged, he said.

“She asks good, relevant and important questions in Parliament,” Mr Heng added. “She has a deep understanding of what will be needed to take Singapore forward.”

Three MPs remain in the five-member Tampines GRC: Mr Heng, Mr Baey Yam Keng and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Masagos Zulkifli.

There has been speculation that Jurong GRC MP and Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, who was present at the Marsiling National Day celebration, may be fielded in the Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC for the elections.

Source: CNA/xq