Principals appointed for 7 merged secondary schools

Principals appointed for 7 merged secondary schools

The seven are part of the 61 principals named to lead junior colleges, secondary and primary schools, the Ministry of Education says.

SINGAPORE: Principals for seven merged secondary schools were named on Friday (Oct 21), as part of the Ministry of Education's (MOE) announcement to officially appoint 61 principals in December.

According to MOE's press release, the principals for these secondary schools will be:

1. Beatty Secondary School (merger of Balestier Hill Secondary School and Beatty Secondary School): Mr Ling Khoon Chow, the current principal of Bendemeer Secondary School

2. Boon Lay Secondary School (merger of Boon Lay Secondary School and Pioneer Secondary School): Mr Tan Chor Pang, the current principal of Boon Lay Secondary School

3. Broadrick Secondary School (merger of Broadrick Secondary School and MacPherson Secondary School): Mdm Tan Lay Hong, the current principal of Sembawang Secondary School

4. Bukit Merah Secondary School (merger of Bukit Merah Secondary School and Henderson Secondary School): Mr Cheng Ghee Hock, the current principal of Canberra Secondary School

5. Marsiling Secondary School (merger of Marsiling Secondary School and Si Ling Secondary School): Mr Goh Aik Choon, the current principal of Si Ling Secondary School

6. Meridian Secondary School (merger of Coral Secondary School and Siglap Secondary School): Mdm Tan Hwee Tsian Hilda, the current principal of Pasir Ris Secondary School

7. Northland Secondary School (merger of North View Secondary School and Northland Secondary School): Mdm Tan Siew Woon, the current principal of Fuhua Secondary School

The schools will be merged in 2017, the ministry said.

In addition to these seven principals, the MOE also announced that there will be 13 new principals - five for secondary schools and eight for primary schools. They are:



Name of New Principal

Current Designation


Edgefield Secondary School

Mr Lee Peck Ping


Vice-Principal/ Edgefield Secondary School


Hai Sing Catholic School

Mr Ang Teck Siang Daniel


Vice-Principal/ Hai Sing Catholic School


Kranji Secondary School

Mr Goh Soon Hoe


Vice-Principal/ Kranji Secondary School


Northbrooks Secondary School

Mr Chan Choon Long


VP/ Bukit Panjang Government High School


Pasir Ris Crest Secondary School

Mr Tan Shun Loong


Vice-Principal/ Pasir Ris Crest Secondary School


Bukit View Primary School

Mdm Koh Yuen Choo


Vice-Principal/ Bukit View Primary School


Compassvale Primary School

Mr Aw Ker Lee Jeffrey


Vice-Principal/ Qihua Primary School


Eunos Primary School

Mdm Phua Yin Lin Grace


Vice-Principal/ Eunos Primary School


Haig Girls’ School

Miss Lo Yen Nie


Vice-Principal/ Haig Girls' School


Marymount Convent School

Mdm Chong Ai Choo Allison


Vice-Principal/ Marymount Convent School


Meridian Primary School

Ms Liza Bte Rahmat

Vice-Principal/ Tanjong Katong Primary School


St. Andrew's Junior School

Ms Neo Phei Tze


Vice-Principal/ St. Andrew's Junior School


Yio Chu Kang Primary School

Mr Ng Aik Boon


Vice-Principal/ Northbrooks Secondary School

"The appointment is an important milestone for the 13 newly appointed principals as they assume major responsibilities as leaders in education," MOE said. "For the 48 serving principals and HQ officers who are assuming new appointments, it is an affirmation of MOE’s confidence in their abilities to continue guiding our teachers and our students in our schools."

They will be officially appointed at the Appointment and Appreciation Ceremony for Principals, which will be held on Dec 29 this year. Acting Education Minister (Schools) Ng Chee Meng will attend the event, the ministry added.