Golf - Rahm incurs penalty stroke for stepping on ball

Golf - Rahm incurs penalty stroke for stepping on ball

Spaniard Jon Rahm incurred an one-stroke penalty when he trod on his ball during the second round of the PGA Championship on Friday.

PGA: PGA Championship - Second Round
Aug 10, 2018; Saint Louis, MO, USA; Jon Rahm putts on the 18th green during the second round of the PGA Championship golf tournament at Bellerive Country Club. PHOTO: Reuters/ Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

ST. LOUIS: Spaniard Jon Rahm incurred an one-stroke penalty when he trod on his ball during the second round of the PGA Championship on Friday.

Rahm was searching for the ball in thick rough on his 17th hole, the par-five eighth, when the transgression occurred.

He called for a rules official and informed him of what had happened.

With the rules stating that a one-stroke penalty will be incurred if a player or his caddie steps on the ball, Rahm had no choice but to accept the penalty.

Rahm went on to par the hole and shot a 67 for a five-under 135 halfway total that left him five strokes behind leader Gary Woodland.

The world number seven burst onto the professional scene two years ago and has already racked up five victories - three on the European Tour and two on the PGA Tour.

Although tipped as a future major champion, he has struggled to produce his best form at golf's four big events. A fourth place showing at this year's Masters has been his best effort.

The 23-year-old missed the cut at this year's U.S. and British Opens.

(Reporting by Andrew Both, editing by Pritha Sarkar)

Source: Reuters

Bookmark