FARMINGDALE, N.Y.: A late arrival nearly meant an early exit from the PGA Championship for David Lipsky on Friday after the American failed to make his second round tee time and was handed a two-stroke penalty.
The PGA of America said in a statement that Lipsky walked toward the first tee at Bethpage Black for his second round with his putter and a golf ball, but was not within the area defined as the starting point for his 12:43 p.m. ET start time.
According to PGA of America's local rules the starting point for holes one and 10 is defined by the rope, gallery stakes, green bike fencing and/or blue stakes, blue dots or blue lines.
With the two-shot penalty Lipsky took a bogey five at the first. He took another bogey at nine before collecting his only birdie of the day at 11 and stumbling to the finish with three straight bogeys from the 15th for a four-over 74.
After an opening-round 70 Lipsky sits four-over at the midway point, right on the projected four-over cut line.
(Reporting by Steve Keating in Toronto; Editing by Toby Davis)