Skip to main content




GE2020: Mediacorp to air final 5 constituency political broadcasts on Wednesday

GE2020: Mediacorp to air final 5 constituency political broadcasts on Wednesday

Presiding officers check the voter details at a polling station in Singapore on Sep 11, 2015. (Photo: AFP / ROSLAN RAHMAN)

SINGAPORE: Mediacorp will air the final five constituency political broadcasts (CPBs) for the General Election on Wednesday (Jul 8).

The broadcasts will air from 7pm on Channel, CNA YouTube, CNA Facebook and TODAY.

The constituencies participating in Wednesday's broadcasts are Tampines GRC, Tanjong Pagar GRC, West Coast GRC, Yio Chu Kang SMC and Yuhua SMC.

As previously announced by the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA), the order of the CPBs is based on the alphabetical ordering of the constituency. 

The broadcast for each constituency will begin with the incumbent, followed by other contesting parties or candidates.

The allocated airtime for political parties for the CPBs is as follows:

  • Single Member Constituency (SMC) – three minutes per candidate;
  • Group Representative Constituency (GRC) – 12 minutes per four-member GRC, and 15 minutes per five-member GRC. For GRCs, parties can decide if one or more members will speak during the allotted time. The entire GRC team also does not have to be present for their respective CPBs.

On Tuesday, CPBs were aired for Pioneer SMC, Potong Pasir SMC, Punggol West SMC, Radin Mas SMC, Sembawang GRC and Sengkang GRC.

These broadcasts are part of Mediacorp’s comprehensive coverage of the General Election 2020 in all four languages across all its platforms.

BOOKMARK THIS: Our comprehensive coverage of GE2020 and its developments

Download our app or subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest updates:

Source: CNA/nh(nc)


Also worth reading