Skip to main content




Motor racing: Formula One statistics for the Russian Grand Prix

Formula One statistics for Sunday's Russian Grand Prix in Sochi, round 15 of the world championship.

Lap distance: 5.848km. Total distance: 309.745km (53 laps)

2020 pole position: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes one minute 31.304 seconds.

2020 winner: Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes

Race lap record: Hamilton, 2019: 1:35.761.

Start time: 1200 GMT/1500 local


Mercedes are the only team to have won in Russia since the first race in Sochi in 2014. The run of seven is a record for most consecutive wins at the same grand prix.

Hamilton won in 2014, 2015, 2018 and 2019, Nico Rosberg in 2016 and Bottas in 2017 and 2020.

Ferrari are the only team other than Mercedes to have started on pole in Russia. They did so in 2017 with Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc in 2019.

Mercedes and Ferrari have taken 18 of 21 podium places in Russia to date. The only exceptions were Bottas, third in 2014 for Williams, Sergio Perez third for Force India in 2015 and Max Verstappen's second for Red Bull in 2020.

Bottas started on the front row in Sochi in 2016, took the first race win of his F1 career there in 2017 and was on pole in 2018. He won again in 2020 with fastest lap.

The layout runs clockwise around the 2014 Olympic Park venues, partly on public roads.

The Russian Grand Prix is due to be hosted at St Petersburg's Igora Drive circuit from 2023.

Rookie Nikita Mazepin, with Haas, is the only Russian driver on the current starting grid.


Hamilton has a record 99 career victories, of which 78 have been with Mercedes, from 280 starts. He has been on the podium 175 times.

Championship leader Max Verstappen has won seven races so far in 2021, to Hamilton's four and one each for Red Bull's Mexican Sergio Perez, Alpine's Esteban Ocon and McLaren's Daniel Ricciardo.

Ferrari have won 238 races since 1950, McLaren 183, Mercedes 119, Williams 114 and Red Bull 72.

Ricciardo's win at Monza was McLaren's first since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 101 career poles and has won 59 times from pole. He has had three poles so far in 2021.

Verstappen has been on pole eight times this year, while Ferrari's Charles Leclerc was fastest in Azerbaijan and Monaco qualifying. Bottas was on pole in Portugal.


Verstappen is five points ahead of Hamilton. Mercedes lead Red Bull by 18 points.


George Russell has scored for Williams in three of the last four races. The team had failed to score a point for two years before that.


Hamilton can become the first F1 driver to win 100 grands prix.

Monza was the first race that both Hamilton and Verstappen failed to finish. Hamilton's retirement was his first in 63 starts.

McLaren's win at Monza came 170 races after their last victory, the second longest wait between wins for an ever-present constructor. The record is held by Ligier, who went 231 races without a win between 1981 and 1996.

McLaren are the only team so far to finish one-two in 2021.

(Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Christian Radnedge)

Source: Reuters


Also worth reading