Skip to main content




DBS and SIA chairman Peter Seah heads list of National Day Award recipients

SINGAPORE: Mr Peter Seah, chairman of DBS Group Holdings and DBS and Singapore Airlines, heads this year’s list of National Day Award recipients.

Mr Seah, who is also the chairman of Lasalle College of the Arts and the National Wages Council, was awarded the Order of Nila Utama (with Distinction). 

He was appointed a member of the Council of Presidential Advisers in January this year, with his term running until Jun 1, 2024. The council provides advice to President Halimah Yacob before she exercises her discretionary powers on fiscal matters related to Singapore’s past reserves and the appointment of key public officer holders.

Mr Seah was a banker for 33 years before retiring as the vice-chairman and CEO of the former Overseas Union Bank in 2001. He was awarded the Public Service Star in 1999 and the Distinguished Service Order in 2012.

More than 5,700 individuals received National Day Honours this year.

Other recipients of this year's National Day Awards include chairman of the National Parks Board (NParks) Benny Lim Siang Hoe and chairman of the Public Transport Council Richard Magnus. 

They were awarded the Distinguished Service Order.

Mr Lim was previously permanent secretary of the Ministry of Home Affairs, National Security Coordination Secretariat, Prime Minister’s Office and Ministry of National Development. He spent more than three decades in public service before retiring in 2016.

He was appointed as chairman of NParks in 2018.

Mr Magnus was Singapore’s first representative to the ASEAN Inter-Governmental Commission on Human Rights. Before joining the Public Transport Council, he was the board director of the Land Transport Authority. He was appointed as chairman of the Public Transport Council on May 1, 2014.

He was given the Public Administration Medal (Gold) (Bar) in 2003, the Meritorious Service Medal in 2009 and the Public Service Star Medal in 2015.

A full list of the 2021 National Day Award recipients is available on PMO’s website.

Source: CNA/ec


Also worth reading