Skip to main content
Best News Website or Mobile Service
WAN-IFRA Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Best News Website or Mobile Service
Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Hamburger Menu




Mahathir’s Gerakan Tanah Air unveils Malaysia GE15 candidates; celebrities and activist among line-up

Mahathir’s Gerakan Tanah Air unveils Malaysia GE15 candidates; celebrities and activist among line-up

Former Malaysian prime minister Mahathir Mohamad speaks during a press conference in Putrajaya on Oct 11, 2022. (Photo: AFP/Mohd Rasfan)

KUALA LUMPUR: The Gerakan Tanah Air (GTA) coalition, led by former prime minister Mahathir Mohamad, has unveiled its candidates for the upcoming 15th General Election (GE15).

The 121 candidates included local celebrities Ahmad Idham Ahmad Nadzri and Eizlan Yusof, as well as road safety activist Lando Zawawi.

Mr Ahmad Idham is an actor and former chief executive officer of the National Film Development Corporation Malaysia. He will be standing in Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan.

Mr Eizlan, an actor, will contest in Sabak Bernam, Selangor while Mr Lando will contest in Tanjung Karang, Selangor. 

The three of them are under the Gagasan Bangsa coalition of civil societies.  

Dr Mahathir was quoted as saying by The Malaysian Insight on Wednesday (Nov 2) that the total number of candidates might increase before nomination day on Saturday.

Dr Mahathir, 97, will defend the Langkawi seat. His son Mukhriz Mahathir will again contest in Jerlun, Kedah while Mr Amiruddin Hamzah, the secretary-general of Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang), will defend the Kubang Pasu seat in Kedah. 

However, former deputy works minister Shahruddin Md Salleh will switch base from Seri Gading, Johor to Kuala Krau, Pahang.

GTA secretary-general Marzuki Yahaya will contest in Sungai Petani, Kedah.

Back in 2018, Dr Mahathir, Mr Muhyiddin Yassin and Mr Anwar Ibrahim worked together to capture Putrajaya under the Pakatan Harapan (PH) umbrella. At that time, Dr Mahathir had promised to hand over power to Mr Anwar. 

However, the PH administration collapsed 22 months later, due to infighting.

Dr Mahathir then founded Pejuang.

GTA, which was launched only in August, comprises four political parties including the National Indian Muslim Alliance Party (Iman), Parti Bumiputera Perkasa Malaysia (Putra), Parti Barisan Jemaah Islamiah Se-Malaysia (Berjasa) and Pejuang. It also includes NGOs, academicians and individuals.

As the Malay movement has yet to be registered, all candidates will run under the Pejuang banner.

More than 21 million people will cast their ballots in Malaysia’s GE15 to elect 222 new members of the Lower House of parliament. 

The Election Commission has fixed the polling day on Nov 19 and nomination on Nov 5.

You may also be interested in:

Source: Agencies/aw


Also worth reading