Skip to main content
Best News Website or Mobile Service
WAN-IFRA Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Best News Website or Mobile Service
Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Hamburger Menu




COVID-19: Shorter stay-home notice period for travellers from Poland, Saudi Arabia

COVID-19: Shorter stay-home notice period for travellers from Poland, Saudi Arabia

File photo: People in the transit hall of Changi Airport, Singapore on Sep 3, 2021. (Photo: AFP/Roslan Rahman)

SINGAPORE: Those with a 21-day travel history to Poland and Saudi Arabia who wish to enter Singapore from Sep 23 will be allowed to serve a 7-day stay-home notice at a place of accommodation.

This comes after the Ministry of Health (MOH) reviewed the COVID-19 situation in these countries, the ministry said in a news release on Friday (Sep 17). 

"The multi-ministry task force has also been closely monitoring the global COVID-19 situation and continues to update the country risk classification periodically," MOH said.

Other countries in the same category II classification are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Germany, New Zealand and the Republic of Korea. 

Travellers from these countries or regions are required to take a pre-departure polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test within 48 hours, an on-arrival test, and a Day 7 stay-home notice exit PCR test.

MOH has also added Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Latvia, Portugal and Spain to the stricter category III, which requires travellers from these countries to serve a 14-day stay-home notice at a dedicated facility or place of accommodation if criteria is fulfilled.

Travellers may opt for stay-home notice at a suitable accommodation if they are fully vaccinated, and are occupying the accommodation alone, or with other vaccinated persons with the same travel history and stay-home notice duration.

These travellers also have to take a Day 3, 7 and 11 antigen rapid test (ART) self-swab.

Travellers from countries and regions in the least strict category I, comprising Hong Kong, Macao, mainland China and Taiwan, only need to take an on-arrival test before entering Singapore.


With the COVID-19 situation in Indonesia showing "improvement", MOH said all passengers with travel history to Indonesia within the last 21 days prior to departure for Singapore will be allowed to transit through Singapore from 11.59pm on Sep 22. 

The ministry had previously announced that travellers with a 21-day travel history to Indonesia would not be allowed to transit through Singapore, and those entering Singapore would also be required to undergo an on-arrival ART, on top of the on-arrival PCR test.

With the changes, these travellers entering Singapore will only need to take an on-arrival PCR test, in addition to other category IV measures.

"As the global situation evolves, we will continue to adjust our border measures in tandem with our roadmap to becoming a COVID-19 resilient nation," MOH said.

"Travellers are advised to visit the website to check the latest border measures for the associated country or region before entering Singapore; and be prepared to be subjected to the prevailing border measures upon entry."

BOOKMARK THIS: Our comprehensive coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic and its developments

Download our app or subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest updates on the coronavirus pandemic:

Source: CNA/hz(zl)


Also worth reading