Skip to main content
Best News Website or Mobile Service
WAN-IFRA Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Best News Website or Mobile Service
Digital Media Awards Worldwide
Hamburger Menu




GE2020: Elections Department releases list of 9 nomination centres

GE2020: Elections Department releases list of 9 nomination centres

People's Action Party supporters pass a Workers' Party supporter carrying an umbrella at a nomination centre ahead of the General Election in Singapore on Sep 1, 2015. (Photo: Reuters/Edgar Su)

SINGAPORE: The Elections Department (ELD) has announced a list of nine nomination centres, following Tuesday’s (Jun 23) announcements that Nomination Day will take place on Jun 30, with Singaporeans heading to the polls on Jul 10.

Prospective candidates will have to submit their nomination papers at one of nine schools, each handling the following electoral divisions:

Nomination papers must be submitted on Jun 30 to the Returning Officer. The document must be filled in and signed by the candidate, or group of candidates for a Group Representation Constituency (GRC), together with a proposer, a seconder and at least four assentors. 

Each prospective candidate must also submit his or her deposit of S$13,500 before noon on Nomination Day, said ELD in the press release. 

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act, the deposit per candidate is the fixed monthly allowance payable to an elected Member of Parliament for the month immediately before the date of dissolution of Parliament (rounded to the nearest $500). 

“While payment of the deposit can be made at the Nomination Place before 12 noon on Nomination Day, we strongly encourage candidates to make payment of the deposit early via electronic funds transfer through ELD’s digital services for candidates,” said ELD in the press release. 

This year’s Returning Officer is Mr Tan Meng Dui, chief officer of the National Environment Agency. 

Campaigning can start from Nomination Day, and there will be a Cooling Off Day before Polling Day on Jul 10. 

READ: GE2020: President Halimah Yacob dissolves Parliament, issues Writ of Election; Nomination Day on Jun 30

President Halimah Yacob dissolved Parliament earlier on Tuesday on the advice of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, said the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO). 

“The Prime Minister has advised that Nomination Day be on Tuesday, Jun 30, 2020, and the President has agreed,” said the PMO statement. 

In a televised address to the nation on Tuesday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that an election now will “clear the decks” and give the new Government a fresh five-year mandate to focus on the national agenda and the difficult decisions it will have to make.

“The alternative is to wait out the COVID-19 pandemic. But we have no assurance that the pandemic will be over before this Government’s term must end next April,” he said. 

Source: CNA/hw(ac)


Also worth reading